The #AncellorProject

Yesterday (09.10.13) I set up a pitfall trap near the Ancellor building. It’s baited with a small amount of liver, and I’m hoping it will attract a few of the various insects associated with decomposition – particularly the beetles.

My intention is to check and empty the trap regularly (every day if possible, but we’ll have to see), ID as far as possible the species found there, and post the results  here at the end of each week. I’ll be leaving the trap set up for three weeks in total, until the end of October.

Suggestions are appreciated, and people are very welcome to join in – I’m more than happy for this to be a group thing. Let me know if you’re interested!

 

Hopefully the plastic box will keep out the rain and larger animals. Hopefully

Hopefully the plastic box will protect the trap from both the rain and curious vertebrates. Hopefully.

Pitfall trap, small jar of bait, bottle trap containing bait

Pitfall trap, small jar of bait, bottle trap containing bait

Looks pretty classy if I do say so myself

Looks pretty classy if I do say so myself

There's a small gap between the ground and the bottom of the box - hopefully enough to allow arthropod access!

There’s a small gap between the ground and the bottom of the box – hopefully enough to allow arthropod access!

One thought on “The #AncellorProject

Leave a Reply

